Mohamed Salah Among Three Finalists For UEFA Player Of The Year Award

     Liverpool paid Salah and Alisson are up for awards

AFP Liverpool paid Salah and Alisson are up for awards

Real Madrid are once again at the forefront of football's European awards as Cristiano Ronaldo and Luka Modric have been announced alongside Liverpool's Mohamed Salah as the nominees for UEFA's Player of the Year award.

Lionel Messi has been snubbed in the three-man shortlist for UEFA player of the year.

Modric, also part of Madrid's Champions League winning team, finished runner-up with Croatia at the World Cup, winning the best player award at the tournament in Russian Federation.

"Players are judged on their performances in all competitions - domestic, continental and global", UEFA said in a statement.

With Mohammed Salah and Luka Modric making up the three-man short-list, the pair also played in the UEFA Champions League, although Modric was also named the Golden Ball victor in this summer's World Cup in Russian Federation. Mbappe was named best young player in Russian Federation. Croatia's Modric also shined in the World Cup taking his national team to the final match which they lost against France. 34 of his goals came in 36 appearances in La Liga whilst he netted six times in ten Champions League matches, whilst contributing 18 assists from those 45 matches.

Pentagon pushes Trump's military parade to 2019
However, new estimates place the cost of the parade at $92 million - $80 million more than the initial estimates of $ 12 million . The military parade President Trump requested for November has been pushed back to 2019, the Pentagon announced Thursday.

Ronaldo had 15 goals in 13 UCL matches en route to a Real Madrid Champions Cup victory over Liverpool.

Ronaldo and Salah are on the forwards shortlist with Messi, and Modric is joined by Kevin De Bruyne and Toni Kroos on the midfielders list.

The Portuguese has won the award for the last two seasons, and a record three times in toal having never failed to finish inside the top three positions. The award will be presented on August 31 at the draw for the group stage of the Europa League.

VfL Wolfsburg striker Pernille Harder and Olympique Lyonnais forward Ada Hegerberg and defensive midfielder Amandine Henry were short-listed for the women's award.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.